Sri Lanka chose to bat vs Australia

Sri Lanka won the toss and chose to bat first in the first ODI against Australia, at Pallekele. The hosts are again playing with six recognised batters, plus two allrounders, and three specialist bowlers.

Dunith Wellalage, the 19-year old left-arm spinner who can bat a bit, is making his debut for Sri Lanka following some good performances against Australia A last week. Their team combination, however, means there is no space for Bhanuka Rajapaksa, with Dhananjaya de Silva (who was not in the T20 squad) taking that middle-order spot instead. Kusal Mendis will bat in the top order and keep wickets.

For Australia, an injury to Kane Richardson means that Jhye Richardson plays, as part of a three-pronged frontline seam attack also featuring Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood. Wicketkeeper-batter Alex Carey is likely to bat at No. 5.

There is always a chance of rains interrupting the cricket at Pallekele, at this time of year. Skies were relatively clear at the toss, though.

Sri Lanka: 1 Danushka Gunathilaka, 2 Pathum Nissanka, 3 Kusal Mendis (wk), 4 Charith Asalanka, 5 Dhananjaya de Silva, 6 Dasun Shanaka (capt), 7 Wanindu Hasaranga, 8 Chamika Karunaratne, 9 Dunith Wellalage, 10 Dushmantha Chameera, 11 Maheesh Theekshana

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Steven Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey (wk), 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Glenn Maxwell, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Pat Cummins, 10 Jhye Richardson, 11 Josh Hazlewood