Toss Zimbabwe chose to bat vs Bangladesh

Zimbabwe captain Craig Ervine decided to bat after winning his third consecutive toss against Bangladesh in Harare. Bangladesh made three changes: Mahmudullah predictably came in for Nurul Hasan, while Shoriful Islam and Munim Shahriar were replaced by Nasum Ahmed and debutant Parvez Hossain Emon.

For the hosts, Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava and Tanaka Chivanga made way for fast bowlers Victor Nyauchi and Brad Evans, and legspinner John Masara was making his T20I debut.

The visitors have had an eventful 48 hours leading up to this game. They first lost their captain Nurul Hasan to a finger injury, after the team physio confirmed that he will be out for three weeks. Twenty-four hours before the game, the BCB named Mosaddek Hossain as the captain, which surprised many as the initial thought was that Litton Das, a more established member of the side, would lead the side in Nurul’s absence.

The bigger surprise was for Mahmudullah to be named as Nurul’s replacement in the T20I side, after he was “rested” alongside the other senior players like Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan from the T20I side. Mahmudullah, who was already in Harare as part of the ODI squad, slid right back into the T20I side.

Debutant Emon is an aggressive left-hand opener who was part of the Bangladesh Under-19 World Cup triumph in 2020. He later struck the country’s fastest T20 hundred during the Bangabandhu Cup later in the same year.

Zimbabwe: 1 Regis Chakabva (wk), 2 Craig Ervine (capt), 3 Wessly Madhevere, 4 Sean Williams, 5 Sikandar Raza, 6 Milton Shumba, 7 Ryan Burl, 8 Luke Jongwe, 9 John Masara, 10 Victor Nyauchi, 11 Brad Evans

Bangladesh: 1 Litton Das (wk), 2 Parvez Hossain Emon, 3 Anamul Haque, 4 Mahmudullah, 5 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Mosaddek Hossain (capt), 8 Mahedi Hasan, 9 Hasan Mahmud, 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Nasum Ahmed