Toss West Indies chose to bat vs India

West Indies won the toss for the second time in as many matches, but opted to bat first in the second ODI after having chosen to bowl two days ago. Their captain Nicholas Pooran said the pitch looked the same as it did for the first ODI, and expected it to be good for run-scoring again after both teams crossed 300 on Friday.

The hosts replaced left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie, who suffered a fractured thumb during the first ODI, with legspinner Hayden Walsh Jr in the only change to their XI.

Pooran’s counterpart Shikhar Dhawan said he too would have batted first had he won the toss. India handed an ODI debut to fast bowler Avesh Khan, who came into the side in place of Prasidh Krishna, as the visitors also made a solitary change to their line-up.

West Indies will have their opener Shai Hope playing his 100th ODI in what is a must-win match for them as they trail 1-0 in the three-match series. India had won the first ODI on Friday in a tight contest in Port of Spain, where the hosts fell short by just three runs.

West Indies: 1 Shai Hope (wk), 2 Kyle Mayers, 3 Shamarh Brooks, 4 Brandon King, 5 Nicholas Pooran (capt), 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Akeal Hosein, 8 Romario Shepherd, 9 Alzarri Joseph, 10 Jayden Seales, 11 Hayden Walsh Jr.

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan (capt), 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Shreyas Iyer, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 Sanju Samson (wk), 6 Deepak Hooda, 7 Axar Patel, 8 Shardul Thakur, 9 Mohammed Siraj, 10 Yuzvendra Chahal, 11 Avesh Khan.