Spain’s Alejandro Davidovich Fokina has found an unusual way to lose a grand slam match. So unusual, he didn’t quite know the rule that did him in.

Davidovich Fokina was given a point penalty by chair umpire Carlos Ramos for ball abuse and, because it came on match point, that ended the second-round contest against the Czech Republic’s Jiri Vesely on Wednesday.

“I don’t agree with it. That’s crazy … what a lousy way to end it,” US tennis great John McEnroe told ESPN.

Watch the latest sport on Channel 7 or stream for free on 7plus >>

Vesely’s 6-3 5-7 6-7 (7-2) 6-3 7-6 (10-7) triumph after nearly four hours of play at Court 17 moves him into the third round for the fifth time in eight trips to Wimbledon.

Davidovich Fokina had been cited for a different code violation earlier. When Ramos made the match-ending call, the 23-year-old world No.37 questioned the ruling, saying his two citations were for different infractions.

But that doesn’t matter: Two such violations during one match result in a point being awarded to the opponent. This one happened to come right after Davidovich Fokina missed a forehand to give Vesely a 9-7 edge in the first-to-10-points, win-by-two final-set tiebreaker.

So Davidovich Fokina, who eliminated No.7 seed Hubert Hurkacz in another fifth-set tiebreaker in the first round on Monday, is out of the men’s singles draw at Wimbledon.

Vesely will next face 30th-seeded Tommy Paul after the American cruised past French veteran Adrian Mannarino 6-2 6-4 6-1.