South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first versus England

South Africa won the toss and chose to bat first on a warm day at Headingley, as both teams named unchanged XIs in their quest for an outright series win, with the contest locked at one game apiece.

Keshav Maharaj, South Africa’s captain, backed his side to put aside their woes from Friday evening’s rain-truncated contest, in which they slumped to 83 all out, their joint-lowest ODI total against England, only days after bossing the opening match of the series with their highest score in the country, 333 for 5 at Durham.

“It looks a bit dry, so we’ll try to utilise the conditions in the second innings,” Maharaj said at the toss. “As a batting unit we’ve done reasonably well, so we’ll make sure we follow our processes and play to our rhythm.”

England have also kept faith in the line-up that hasn’t quite found its best form this summer, but has the chance to end their ODI campaign on a high nonetheless. Phil Salt will get another chance to bat at No.3, following Ben Stokes’ ODI retirement, while Sam Curran and Liam Livingstone – whose cameos at Old Trafford proved so crucial – will once again fill out the middle-order alongside Moeen Ali.

Jos Buttler, England’s captain, admitted he was 50-50 about what he’d have done had he won the toss, but was happy to bowl first, stating that “if it is going to do a bit, it might do it early.

“We’ve been striving for that more complete performance,” Buttler added. “It’s been a strength for us, so there are guys who want to put their hands up, impose ourselves on the game and the opposition.”

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Jonny Bairstow, 3 Phil Salt, 4 Joe Root, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 7 Liam Livingstone, 8 Sam Curran, 9 David Willey, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Reece Topley.

South Africa 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Janneman Malan, 3 Rassie van der Dussen, 4 Aiden Markram, 5 Heinrich Klaasen, 6 David Miller, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Keshav Maharaj (capt), 9 Anrich Nortje, 10 Lungi Ngidi, 11 Tabraiz Shamsi.