TossVelocity opt to bowl vs Trailblazers

Deepti Sharma’s Velocity, who need either a win or a narrow defeat to qualify for the Women’s T20 Challenge Final, won an important toss in Pune against Smriti Mandhana’s Trailblazers.

Deepti chose to bowl first, saying that the Velocity side would prefer batting second, a template the team used to successfully chase down 151 in their opening fixture. She said that she wants her side to repeat what has been discussed in team meetings, including the importance of role clarity.

After losing the toss, Mandhana said that she would’ve wanted to chase too. Due to their big loss in the tournament opener, the Trailblazers need a substantial win against the Velocity to make their way into the final. With Mandhana’s side now setting a target, they will have to win by roughly 31-32 runs (if the target is 160) to overcome the big net-run-rate difference between the two sides.

Both teams made one change each. Maya Sonawane was replaced by Simran Bahadur in the Velocity side while Sabbhineni Meghana comes in for Bangladesh’s Sharmin Akhter for the Trailblazers.

Trailblazers: S Mandhana (capt), H Matthews, J Rodrigues, S Dunkley, S Meghana, R Ghosh (wk), A Reddy, Salma Khatun, Poonam Yadav, Renuka Singh, R Gayakwad

Velocity: Shafali Verma, N Chantham, Y Bhatia (wk), L Wolvaardt, D Sharma (capt), K Navgire, S Rana, R Yadav, K Cross, A Khaka, S Bahadur