Scott Dixon has won the Honda Indy Toronto for a fourth time.

Colton Herta was second fastest around the street track at Exhibition Place and Felix Rosenqvist was third.

Dixon is now tied with the legendary Mario Andretti for the second most wins in IndyCar history at 52. A.J. Foyt is the all-time leader with 67.

IndyCar rookie Devlin DeFrancesco of Toronto was 18th.

Dalton Kellett of nearby Stouffville, Ont., completed nine laps before mechanical failure ended his race.

Both Canadians drove in the Honda Indy for the first time as the event was cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Kellett’s car started smoking early in the race, forcing him to pit. After the A.J. Foyt Enterprises crew worked at Kellett’s car it was announced the local was out of the race.

Click to play video: 'Honda Indy: How driver Dalton Kellett is preparing for his home race!'

Honda Indy: How driver Dalton Kellett is preparing for his home race!

Honda Indy: How driver Dalton Kellett is preparing for his home race!
Alexander Rossi was pushed into a barricade by Rosenqvist in the 45th lap, wrecking his car. Although it led to a yellow flag – with most drivers taking the opportunity to pit – Rosenqvist was not penalized for the contact.

Dixon was leading at the time of Rossi’s accident and he led the way into the pit. Rinus VeeKay didn’t go into the pit and held the lead until he went into the pit to switch out his tires.

Story continues below advertisement

Jimmie Johnson and rookie Kyle Kirkwood took each other out in the 58th lap. Johnson started to turn into Kirkwood’s line, leading to the rookie driving into Johnson’s side.

Although Herta earned pole position in Saturday’s qualifying, Dixon was in control for most of the race. Late in the race Herta’s strategist could be heard on the broadcast telling him to try and make a move on Dixon if the opportunity presented itself, but otherwise focus on conserving fuel.

That opening never materialized for Herta, as Dixon held on to the lead for more than 20 of the race’s final laps

Dixon has now won in 18 straight seasons, but was without a victory in 23 races until Sunday’s race in Toronto.

Notes: Max Kerman and Mike DeAngelis of the Juno Award-winning rock band Arkells were honorary grand marshals for the event.

© 2022 The Canadian Press