Pakistan have announced a 15-woman squad for the tri-series in Ireland and the upcoming Commonwealth Games, with Bismah Maroof to captain the side through both assignments. The squad is unchanged from the one that achieved a clean sweep against Sri Lanka in a T20 series last week, with Player of the Series Tuba Hassan rewarded with a retention. Three reserve players – Ghulam Fatima, Sadaf Shamas and Umme Hani – have also been included.
In another development, the Commonwealth Games agreed to issue accreditation to Bismah’s infant daughter Fatima and her mother, who will now stay in the Commonwealth village. The Games had initially declined to issue accreditation for the two, asking the PCB to remove two members of their original travelling squad to accommodate them. ESPNcricinfo understands the Games have backtracked, and will issue the accreditations without requiring a reduction in personnel elsewhere.

“I want to thank the Commonwealth Games for accepting our request to accommodate our captain Bismah Maroof’s family at the games village which will allow her to focus on the task at hand without any worries about her young infant daughter,” head of women’s cricket Tania Mallick said.

“Following a successful series against Sri Lanka, we have decided to retain the same winning combination,” chief selector Asmavia Iqbal said. “Not only our senior cricketers in the side displayed great cricketing acumen also our youngsters were outstanding and have raised their hands whenever the team needed them to.

“We are delighted with the start Tuba Hassan has had to her international career and feel her leg-spin will be a potent weapon for us in the days ahead. Ayesha Naseem produced a match winning innings in the second match of the T20Is against Sri Lanka and proved her big-hitting ability.

“The tri-series in Ireland and the Birmingham Commonwealth Games will test the abilities of our players and I have all the belief in them that they will live up to the expectations and show consistent results.”

Pakistan will take on T20 world champions Australia and hosts Ireland in a tri-series in Belfast from July 16 to 24 and play Barbados, India and Australia in the Commonwealth Games on July 29, 31 and August 3. They will leave for the UK on July 12, before which they will have a training camp in Islamabad.