Martin Odegaard has been confirmed as the new Arsenal captain.

The midfielder takes over the armband on a formal basis ahead of the 2022/23 campaign having sported it during pre-season and on several occasions at the tail-end of last season when Alex Lacazette was benched.

The Frenchman had taken over from Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang at the start of the year after his pal was stripped of the responsibility due to disciplinary issues.

Arsenal supporters will be hoping the captaincy is in safe hands with Odegaard. The 23-year-old is already captain of his country and is very well-respected in the dressing room, and the game in general, having shot to prominence as a 15-year-old in Norway.

Congratulations, Martin. Do us proud.

Arsenal’s captains during the Emirates era (via The Arsenal History)

2006-07 Thierry Henry
2007-08 William Gallas
2008-09 William Gallas (Until 24 November 2008)
2008-09 Cesc Fabregas (From 24 November 2008)
2009-10 Cesc Fabregas
2010-11 Cesc Fabregas
2011-12 Robin van Persie
2012-13 Thomas Vermaelen
2013-14 Thomas Vermaelen
2014-15 Mikel Arteta
2015-16 Mikel Arteta
2016-17 Per Mertesacker
2017-18 Per Mertesacker
2018-19 Laurent Koscielny
2019-20 Granit Xhaka (Appointed on 27 September 2019 although had captained the team until then. Until 5 November 2019)
2019-20 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (From 5 November 2019)
2020/21 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang
2021/22 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (until 15 December 2021)
2021/22 Alex Lacazette (9 February until 30 June 2022)