New Zealand Cricket (NZC), on Sunday, announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming white-ball tour of West Indies, starting August 10 at Sabina Park in Kingston, Jamaica.

The tour will feature three T20Is, and as many ODIs; however, the selectors have named only one combined squad, keeping in mind a busy schedule as all six limited-over fixtures will take place in 11 days.

Regular skipper Kane Williamson has returned to lead the Black Caps, and along with him, the pace duo of Trent Boult and Tim Southee and batter Devon Conway have all been named in the squad.

Notably, this will be New Zealand’s first trip to the Caribbean since 2014. The T20 matches will come in handy for both sides as a crucial preparation ahead of the T20 World Cup, scheduled to take place in Australia later this year. Similarly, the ODIs are part of the Super League points in the lead-up to the 50-over World Cup in India next year.

“It’s always exciting to be heading somewhere you’ve not been in a while, and I know this group can’t wait for the challenge of taking on the West Indies in the Caribbean..Managing workloads is hugely important this year with the team playing some form of cricket every month in 2022 – and this applies to both players and staff,” said head coach Gary Stead as quoted by NZ Herald.

“For Kane, Trent, Tim and Devon, this will be the first time they have played white ball cricket for New Zealand since last year’s T20 World Cup and tour to India – so this trip will be important for them. We also have players such as Michael and Finn, who are relatively new to the international stage but have really put their hands up for selection when given opportunities. As a selector, it’s been great to see these guys push their cases,” he added.

New Zealand’s Combined squad for West Indies tour:

Kane Williamson (C), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Michael Bracewell, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.