The inaugural edition of Commonwealth Games Women’s Cricket Competition 2022 will begin from July 29 in Birmingham. Eight teams, divided into two groups, will clash for a gold medal at the tournament that will be played in the T20 format.

Team India, under the leadership of Harmanpreet Kaur, will start their journey in the opening game of the competition against Australia on Friday.

Notably, the Women in Blue are in Group A, which features three other teams, i.e. Australia, Pakistan and Barbados – the representative team for West Indies.

After the battle against the Aussies, India will face arch-rivals Pakistan on Sunday (July 31). Their last group game will be against Barbados, scheduled to take place on August 03.

India squad:

Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana, Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniya Sapna Bhatia, Yastika Bhatia, Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.
Standby: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.

India schedule (All timings in IST):

  • July 29, Friday
    Australia Women vs India Women, 4:30 pm
  • July 31, Sunday
    India Women vs Pakistan Women, 4:30 pm
  • August 3, Wednesday
    Barbados Women vs India Women, 11:30 pm