Toss Ireland opt to bat vs New Zealand

For the third straight T20I in the series, Ireland put out the same XI, but unlike the first two T20Is that the hosts lost in convincing fashion, they opted to bat first after winning the toss. New Zealand, chasing for the first time, will be looking to sweep the T20I series 3-0.

The visitors made one change in their XI, with Blair Tickner replacing Lockie Ferguson for the final game. Tickner, the Central Districts quick, last played a T20I against Bangladesh in September 2021, and has five wickets in eight outings in the format.

In the ODI series preceding the T20Is, Tickner had conceded 71 runs each in the first and the third ODIs, but now has an opportunity to finish the Ireland leg in a strong fashion. However, there was no place in the New Zealand XI for Mark Chapman, Ben Sears or Michael Rippon, who have been on the bench for all three matches.

Similarly for Ireland, the trio of Stephen Doheny, Andrew McBrine and Fionn Hand have got no game time either in the series.

The match is being played under cloudy conditions, and while the complexion of the sky is not expected to change, there is no rain in the horizon according to weather reports.

Ireland XI: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Andrew Balbirnie (capt), 3 Gareth Delany, 4 Harry Tector, 5 Curtis Campher, 6 George Dockrell, 7 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 8 Mark Adair, 9 Barry McCarthy, 10 Craig Young, 11 Joshua Little

New Zealand XI: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Finn Allen, 3 Dane Cleaver (wk), 4 Glenn Phillips, 5 Daryl Mitchell, 6 Jimmy Neesham, 7 Michael Bracewell, 8 Mitchell Santner (capt), 9 Ish Sodhi, 10 Blair Tickner, 11 Jacob Duffy